15 June- 3 July is the Twenty-Ninth Regular Session of the Human Rights Council

The Human Rights Council will hold its twenty-ninth regular session from 15 June to 3 July 2015 at the Palais des Nations in Geneva.

The Human Rights Council, an inter-governmental body within the United Nations system, is made up of 47 States which are responsible for strengthening the promotion and protection of human rights around the globe. “The Council was created by the United Nations General Assembly on 15 March 2006 with the main purpose of addressing situations of human rights violations and making recommendations on them.”

The Council at its twenty-ninth session is composed of the following 47 countries: Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Bangladesh, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Botswana, Brazil, China, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, France, Gabon, Germany, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Latvia, Maldives, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, Nigeria, Pakistan, Paraguay, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Sierra Leone, South Africa, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) and Viet Nam.

The President of the Human Rights Council is Joachim Rücker, Permanent Representative of Germany to the United Nations Office at Geneva. The Council’s four Vice Presidents are Filloreta Kodra of Albania, Juan Esteban Aguirre Martinez of Paraguay, Mukhtar Tileuberdi of Kazakhstan and Mothusi Bruce Rabasha Palai of Botswana. Rabasha Palai of Botswana is the Rapporteur of the Council.

For the full agenda of the Human Rights council, click here.

All other information concerning this session can be found on the Human Rights Council website.